Chota Char Dham

The Chota Char Dham, literally translated as ‘the small four abodes/seats’, meaning ‘the small circuit of four abodes/seats’, is an important Hindu pilgrimage circuit in the Indian Himalayas. Located in the Garhwal region of the state of Uttarakhand, the circuit consists of four sites—Yamunotri, Gangotri, Kedarnath, and Badrinath.

All 4 Chota Char Dhams are in the state of Uttarakhand, India. They are:

  1. Yamunotri
  2. Gangotri
  3. Kedarnath, and 
  4. Badrinath.

The state ‘Uttarakhand’ also has an apt nick name “Dev Bhumi” which is so true to its name.

Badrinath is also one of the four destinations with each destination being in different corners of the country of the longer Char Dham from which the Chota Char Dham likely draws its name.

The Char Dham (meaning: four abodes) is a set of four pilgrimage sites in India. It is believed that visiting these sites helps achieve moksha (salvation). The four Dhams are, Badrinath, Dwarka, Puri and Rameswaram. It is believed that every Hindu should visit the Char Dhams during one’s lifetime. The Char Dham as defined by Adi Shankaracharya consists of four Hindu pilgrimage sites. These main ‘dhams’ are the places of Lord Vishnu and Rameshwaram is of lord Shiva. All the ‘dhams’ are related to four epochs,

  1. Dham of Satyug- Badrinath, Uttarakhand 
  2. Dham of Tretayug -Rameshwaram, Tamil Nadu 
  3. Dham of Dwaperyug – Dwarika, Gujarat 
  4. Dham of Kaliyug – Jaganath Puri, Odisha.