Interesting Facts

North of Gisborne, New Zealand, around the coast to Opotiki and inland to Te Urewera National Park, The East Cape has the honour of witnessing the world’s first sunrise each and every day.

Which country has the last sunset?

United States and New Zealand are both the last countries to have last sunrise currently, as the last inhabited territories within the time zone UTC-11. United State’s American Samoa is on this time zone, as well as New Zealand’s Niue. Niue however, is a self governing country within New Zealand, similar to Aruba within The Netherlands.