Four State Corners Monument

By | January 26, 2022
Four State Corners

The Four Corners area is named after the quadripoint at the intersection of approximately 37° north latitude with 109° 03′ west longitude, where the boundaries of the four states meet, and are marked by the Four Corners Monument. It is the only location in the United States where four states meet. Most of the Four Corners region belongs to semi-autonomous Native American nations, the largest of which is the Navajo Nation, followed by Hopi, Ute, and Zuni tribal reserves and nations. 

Flags surrounding the Four Corners Monument. In clockwise order starting from the frontmost flag, the state flag of Arizona, Flag of the Navajo Nation (twice), Utah, Ute Mountain Ute Tribe Reservation, Colorado, New Mexico, Navajo Nation (third instance), and the flag of the United States of America

You can explore the Native Americans stalls that surround the four corners. Unfortunately, when we visited, only a few stalls were open.

Starting from Colorado, the monument disk reads, “Here meet in freedom under God four states”.
From New Mexico, the disk reads, “In freedom under God four states here meet”.
From Arizona, the disk reads, “Under God four states here meet in freedom”.
Starting from Utah, the disk reads, “Four states here meet in freedom under God”.